Halloween Pumpkin

November 4, 2010

Martha’s Papa George (my father-in-law) grew her a gorgeous huge pumpkin for Halloween in his allotment this year. It was a beauty. Obviously I decided it was not a great idea to have her carve it herself, so I had her draw the face with a whiteboard marker (the idea was I could clean off the ink after I had finished carving – that didn’t work out so well). Martha’s mystery Halloween illness meant that I didn’t get round to carving it until Sunday afternoon, and the face had been drawn on it for sometime by then. First I cut the lid, I cut into the pumpkin at an angle pointing to the stalk so the lid doesn’t fall in when its cut and hollowed out. I use an ice-cream scoop to get out the stringy bits and seeds and to thin down the face side of the pumpkin. Then  I used a small sharp paring knife to cut out Martha’s design. I cut an access/air hole at the back of the pumpkin quite low down so you can’t see it through the face, this makes it easy to get the lit tealights inside without burning your hands and means you can leave the lid on it, without the risk of the candles not having enough oxygen, (lack of oxygen depends on your face design, in some of them with smaller face holes the candles sputter and go out, but the traditional carve with big eyes and a huge zig zag toothed mouth allow enough air in for the candles)  which is handy when its put outside in the rain.

Martha was very pleased with it, and I am quite impressed at her scary face design. However my cunning plan of cleaning the whiteboard pen off didn’t work.

One Response to “Halloween Pumpkin”

  1. ebabeelikes Says:

    Hello. Came over from BMB. Nice blog. BTW, I have the exact same theme. Great minds and all!


Leave a Reply

